top of page
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Estevan Guiterrez

The North Shore Field School has been a positive experience during this semester. The first few Saturday I felt like my team would soon find a new site with all the grass we where clearing but nothing was found. This would be the luck for the Team 3 the remainder of the semester but we still managed to have fun. I have learned a great deal about the field of archaeology and the culture of the Hawaiian Islands during this field school and guest lecturers. I have been able to meet some individuals that have made a large impact in the community that I live in and where I will raise my son making this place a little bit more special when I take him to the areas that we visited. I have also had the opportunity to meet some great people that I hope will keep in touch with after this course is over. Overall I am extremely grateful that I was accepted into this field school since I have gained a wealth of knowledge that I know I will carry with me everywhere I go and will tell my son about how I found small rocks in the grass with Team 3. I hope next field school I can participate in any form since it was a great experience that I hope to repeat.

So the day we started excavation made me realize that archaeology was something that I have wanted to do with the rest of my life. Well if I have the chance to further pursue the degree on a higher level. Throughout this field school we have been matching skill that I enjoy doing hiking, working in the field, geography, and now excavating. The excavation day was really exiting and reminded me of our first day doing survey thinking that every rock had significance until we were shown an example of what to really look for in a site. The same thing happened in the excavation but this time we where more cautious about calling things out. We did manage to find several pieces of charcoal in the layer that had been dug out. It was pretty exiting to find anything and mostly get to dig even though I’m a pretty big guy in a rather small hole. At the end of the day it really helped me decide what I want to do with my professional goals and I really enjoyed working with my team. I learned a lot about the methods that need to be followed and why they need to be followed. I now know why they end the course with excavation its ending with a bang.

bottom of page